Published on: September 6, 2022

UNP proudly celebrates its 76th Anniversary under the patronage of President

The United National Party’s 76th Anniversary was held today (06) at Sugathadasa Stadium in Colombo under the Patronage of President Ranil Wickremesinghe.

‘Lets Build Together’ was the theme of this year’s UNP Anniversary. This is the first time after 28 years that the UNP has celebrated its Anniversary with a state leadership.

It is also noteworthy that this is the fist UNP anniversary following Mr. Ranil Wickremesinghe’s assumption of the presidency.

Signifying all alliances aimed at rebuilding the country, all party leaders representing parliament and others were invited to join the UNP anniversary celebrations and many of them, including Prime Minister Dinesh Gunawardena had attended the event.

EPDP leader Fisheries and Water Resources Minister Douglas Devananda, Minister of Public Security Tiran Alas, Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna General Secretary Parliamentarian Sagara Kariyawasam, Muslim Congress leader SJB Parliamentarian Rauf Hakeem, All Ceylon Muslim Congress Leader and SJB Parliamentarian Rishad Bathiudeen, Ali Sabri Rahim of the National Muslim Alliance, Member of Parliament for Badulla District of SJB Member Arvinda Kumar, Leader of the People’s Congress A.L.M. Ataullah and several others representing other parties joined the celebrations at the Sugathadasa Stadium.

Minister of Lands and Tourism Harin Fernando, Minister of Labour and Foreign Employment Manusha Nanayakkara, were also present at the anniversary ceremony.
The Sugathadasa Stadium was packed to capacity with people representing every corner of the country.

The anniversary ceremony commenced with all the pomp and pageantry and party Leader and President Ranil Wickremesinghe placing a garland on the statue of the party’s Founder D.S. Senanayake and other former leaders.

Floral tributes were placed at the statue of Dudly Senanayake by the Party Deputy Leader Ruwan Wijewardena.

Floral tributes were placed at statue of Sir John Kothalawala by the Deputy Leader of the Party, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam, floral tributes were laid at the statue of J.R. Jayawardena by the United National Party General Secretary Palitha Range Bandara, floral tributes were placed at the statue of R. Premadasa by MP Vajira Abeywardena, and floral tributes were placed at the statue of D.B. Wijetunga by Senior Advisor to the President, Sagala Ratnayake.

It was also noteworthy that the entire stadium rose to their feet in a show if respect while floral tributes were placed at the monuments of the party’s former leaders.
Demonstrating the value of national unity, the national anthem was sung in both Sinhala and Tamil languages and a series of videos showcasing the pride of the party was shown. Musical performances showcasing local culture added colour to the anniversary celebrations.

UNP Deputy Leader and Senior Adviser to the President Ruwan Wijewardena, United National Party General Secretary Palitha Range Bandara, UNP Chairman and Member of Parliament Vajira Abeywardena, National Organizer and President’s Senior Adviser and Chief of Staff Sagala Ratnayake, Deputy Leader Akila Viraj Kariyawasam former Ministers John Amaratunga, Ravi Karunanayake, Navin Dissanayake, Daya Gamage, D.M. Swaminathan and Colombo Mayor Rosy Senananayake attended this event.


The Presidential Media Division is fully responsible for socializing the views, actions, decisions and statements of His Excellency the President through the media. Electronic, print and new media will contribute to this through a credible and engaging approach.

The media department works as a source of information on the subject of the President’s vision and mission by maintaining good coordination with public and private media organizations and journalists.

National policies, plans and measures are explained to the people through the use of high quality media. Identify the fallacies and reveal the truth.