Published on: May 17, 2023

Three new Governors sworn in today

Three new governors were sworn in before President Ranil Wickramasinghe at the Presidential Secretariat today (17).

Mr. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena was elected as the Governor of the North-Western (Wayamba) Province, Mrs. P.S.M. Charles was appointed as the Governor of the Northern Province and Mr. Senthil Thondaman was appointed as the Governor of the Eastern Province.

President’s Secretary Mr. Saman Ekanayake was also present at the ceremony.


The Presidential Media Division is fully responsible for socializing the views, actions, decisions and statements of His Excellency the President through the media. Electronic, print and new media will contribute to this through a credible and engaging approach.

The media department works as a source of information on the subject of the President’s vision and mission by maintaining good coordination with public and private media organizations and journalists.

National policies, plans and measures are explained to the people through the use of high quality media. Identify the fallacies and reveal the truth.