Published on: December 28, 2023

President Appoints New Members to the Anti-Corruption Commission

In a significant move to strengthen the fight against corruption, President Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed Hon. Justice W. M. N. P. Iddawala as the Chairman of the Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption. Additionally, Mr. Chethiya Goonesekera and Mr. K Bernard Rajapakse have been appointed as other members of the Commission, with the appointments taking effect from January 01, 2024.

The President’s decision, made in accordance with Article 41B of the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and Section 4 of the Anti-Corruption Act No. 9 of 2023, aims to enhance the commission’s effectiveness in addressing allegations of corruption.

This move underscores the government’s commitment to transparency, accountability, and the eradication of corruption from all levels of public service. The newly appointed Chairman and members bring a wealth of experience and expertise to their roles, promising a robust and impartial approach to tackling corruption in Sri Lanka.

The Commission to Investigate Allegations of Bribery or Corruption is a vital institution tasked with ensuring accountability and combating corruption in Sri Lanka. The newly appointed Chairman and members are expected to play a pivotal role in upholding the values of integrity and ethical conduct in public service.


The Presidential Media Division is fully responsible for socializing the views, actions, decisions and statements of His Excellency the President through the media. Electronic, print and new media will contribute to this through a credible and engaging approach.

The media department works as a source of information on the subject of the President’s vision and mission by maintaining good coordination with public and private media organizations and journalists.

National policies, plans and measures are explained to the people through the use of high quality media. Identify the fallacies and reveal the truth.