Published on: June 29, 2023

President Appoints New Members to Election, Human Rights Commissions

President Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed Justice Mr. L.T.B. Dehideniya, a retired Supreme Court Judge as the Chairman of the Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka.

Simultaneously, Mr. R.M.A.L. Rathnayake, a former Additional Commissioner General of Elections, has been appointed as the Chairman of the Election Commission.

Joining Mr. Rathnayake in the Election Commission are Mr. M.A. Pathmasiri Chandrawansha Perera and Mr. Ameer Mohommed Faiz.

The newly appointed members of the Human Rights Commission, as directed by the President, include Mr. Nimalasena Gardier Pundihewa, Mr. Thaiyamuttu Thanaraj, Prof. Fathima Farzana Hanifa, and Dr. Gehan Dinuk Gunatillake.


The Presidential Media Division is fully responsible for socializing the views, actions, decisions and statements of His Excellency the President through the media. Electronic, print and new media will contribute to this through a credible and engaging approach.

The media department works as a source of information on the subject of the President’s vision and mission by maintaining good coordination with public and private media organizations and journalists.

National policies, plans and measures are explained to the people through the use of high quality media. Identify the fallacies and reveal the truth.