Published on: May 2, 2024

New Governors appointed to Southern, North Western Provinces

President Ranil Wickremesinghe has appointed two new Governors for the Southern and North Western Provinces today (02).

Accordingly, Mr. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena took oath as the Governor of the Southern Province before President Ranil Wickremesinghe this morning while Mr. Nazeer Ahamed was sworn in as the Governor of the North Western Province.

Secretary to the President Mr. Saman Ekanayake was also present on this occasion.


The Presidential Media Division is fully responsible for socializing the views, actions, decisions and statements of His Excellency the President through the media. Electronic, print and new media will contribute to this through a credible and engaging approach.

The media department works as a source of information on the subject of the President’s vision and mission by maintaining good coordination with public and private media organizations and journalists.

National policies, plans and measures are explained to the people through the use of high quality media. Identify the fallacies and reveal the truth.