Published on: September 18, 2022

Acting Minister Responsibilities to the respective State Ministers of the Ministries under the President

President Ranil Wickremesinghe, who left the island to attend the funeral ceremony of Queen Elizabeth II, arrived in London at noon yesterday (17).

The President was welcome by Mr. Ben Mellor, Director, India and Indo-Pacific Ocean Directorate of the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, Mr. Dave Easton, Deputy Lieutenant, His Majesty the King’s Special and Sri Lankan High Commissioner to Britain Saroja Sirisena.

The President who would attend the funeral ceremony of Queen Elizabeth II at Westminster Abbey, London tomorrow (19) is scheduled to return to the island on Wednesday (21).

During this period the President appointed the respective State Ministers as the acting Ministers of the Ministries under the President.

Accordingly, Mr. Pramita Bandara Tennakoon has been appointed as the Acting Minister of Defense, Mr. Ranjith Siambalapitiya as the Acting Minister of Finance, Economic Stabilization and National Policy, Mrs. Geetha Kumarasinghe as the Acting Minister of Women, Child Affairs and Social Empowerment, Mr. Kanaka Herath as the Acting Minister of Technology and Dilum Amunugama as the Acting Investment Promotion.


The Presidential Media Division is fully responsible for socializing the views, actions, decisions and statements of His Excellency the President through the media. Electronic, print and new media will contribute to this through a credible and engaging approach.

The media department works as a source of information on the subject of the President’s vision and mission by maintaining good coordination with public and private media organizations and journalists.

National policies, plans and measures are explained to the people through the use of high quality media. Identify the fallacies and reveal the truth.